Dadmissions: The Backs Of My Kids’ Heads

Somewhere along the line it became apparent as quick as the flash on my little IPhone camera.. the kids were getting camera shy. It’s my own fault. I’ll take the blame. The girls know I post photos online to share with people. So now they make funny faces and avoid the camera. They’re being kids- what can I do. It makes me so sad. It makes me so frustrated. It makes me a dad on a mission. So I’ve pretty much given up posting photos of their faces and I’ve had to resort to a sort-of covert daddarazzi.. new word there.. who snaps pictures of the kids when they’re not looking, when they’re just being kids. I like to think I’ve become very creative at catching those candid moments on camera.


The result is a series of photos called: The Backs Of My Kids’ Heads. pictures started as simple snap shots
:

headed to school in princess hat
image

looking like a ballerina
head ballerina

waiting with backpacks
image

picking flowers
image

playing the original Atari
image

watching animals at the zoo
image

staring into the Zoltar machine from “Big”
image

looking like a fashionista
head fashion

walking the dog
head walk dog

walking around in pajamas
head pajamas

and more pajamas
image

Mostly though, I started capturing photos of the girls together, being sisters, not knowing the camera was catching little images of their childhood… catching a real love that you could see without anyone posing for the camera or saying “cheese”

walking in the rain
image

hugging when one was sick
image

picking food at the store
image

waiting for build-a-bear to open
image

just holding hands
image

and holding more hands
image

and holding mom and dad’s hand
image

I started learning that I could still get the smallest peek into their world, just keeping an eye on the backs of their heads. Once in a while, even a photo of the backs of their heads can reveal a mirror image worth a thousand words.

doing a twirl
image

getting a good look
head mirror

falling asleep during a haircut
head haircut sleep

I’ll take the small glimpses while I can get them… I know one day the photos will be my own look back… even if it was all about them looking forward…

find me on Facebook at dadmissions the book

About Pete Wilgoren

Author of Dadmissions. Pete Wilgoren is an Emmy winning journalist, blogger, and author writing about parenthood, life, and other stuff
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dadmissions: The Backs Of My Kids’ Heads

  1. Mike Crider says:

    Good stuff, I also struggle getting decent pictures of my twins and I think mine are younger than yours. It’s getting to the point where I’m thinking of just staging their toys in some epic battle and using that for a while. Kids are always good for not following directions, enjoyed your post.

  2. Angela Keck says:

    It’s not just you, I remember hiding from the camera as a kid too and we still took the kind of pictures you had to shake and wait 10 minutes to see back then. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Dadmissions: The Backs Of My Kids’ Heads (part 2) | Dadmissions

  4. I love this idea! I have a million blurry photos of my kids running away from my camera and am always so sad to miss the moments. What a great way to capture the moments!

Leave a comment