Happy Birthday Freebies To Me!

I got up in the morning and went right for my morning cup of coffee.  Today was my birthday.  And my birthday coffee was free.

 

 

image

I dropped the kids off at school and went to have breakfast.  Next stop Denny’s.  With a show of my drivers license they greeted me with a “Happy Birthday and a free grand slam breakfast.  Yum.  You know what?  It was nice to enjoy a quiet breakfast by myself and to reflect on what has been a busy and unexpected year.

image

Breakfast was delicious.  They didn’t even give me a bill, just wished me a “Happy Birthday!” My next stop was the Lucky Car Wash in Pasadena, CA.  They offer a free birthday car wash if you were signed up with them and I was.  The car was so dirty but not for long.  It came out spotless and beautiful and it was more than $20 saved.

image.jpeg

It was close to lunch time and on my way back home I stopped at this awesome cake place.  Nothing Bundt Cakes.  They let me pick whichever flavor I wanted for my free birthday bundt cake.  I got the marble.  I was going to save that to have with the family later this weekend.

image

After the kids were out of school, one of them really wanted ice cream.  So we went to Baskin Robbins for my free birthday scoop.  We got the wild and reckless.  They just scanned the birthday email on my phone and off we went.

image.jpeg

Too much food.  Might need to give up the free Krispy Kreme birthday donut.  I was going to get my hair cut but forgot my birthday coupon for Sport Clips.  Maybe we’d do some clothes shopping instead.  I had my Old Navy birthday coupon for a big discount.  In the end, I got the youngest daughter to soccer practice and then the family went out for a birthday dinner.

image

We ate together at BJ’s brew house and then I was serenaded by the family as they brought out my free dessert pizookie which is an evil warm chocolate cookie with ice cream on it. It was the perfect way to end my birthday.

There are a lot of items you can get for free on your birthday and you know what?  You deserve it!  It requires a little planning ahead of time and maybe a look online at some of the sites which list all the freebies you can get since you need to sign up for some of them.

The Catalina Express in Southern California even offered free ferry rides to the island for my birthday and that was soooo tempting.

I looked at places near me, places that didn’t require another purchase to get a birthday treat, places I’d enjoy during the day.  Annoyed I didn’t get my hair cut but that’s a lesson learned for next year.

As a friend told me, your birthday only comes once a year, so you better enjoy this next trip around the sun!

 

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Freebies To Me!

  1. Belated happy birthday wishes from me Anthony!

    Also, we should really meet up sometime. We exchanged a like sentiment some while before Anthony joined WordPress, but now … now we really, really oughtta. 🙂

  2. Sandy M says:

    Wow…nothing bunt cakes are THE BEST!! Do you have to sign up for them….my birthday is in a couple of months!!

    Happy belated birthday! I love reading all you have to say. In a lot of ways, we’ve been going through a lot of the same things, including unemployment.

    Have a great weekend!

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

