40-Things To Do Before I’m 40: Acupuncture

Last year I started an ambitious project to go out of my comfort zone and try 40 new things before I turned 40.

I did water aerobics with seniors, tried Pilates, visited the Grand Canyon, stayed at a spiritual retreat.  The project was eye opening, and revealing, and truthfully, took way longer to accomplish than I thought.  One summer wasn’t enough.

So my 40th birthday came and went without me completing my 40 tasks. Now here I am staring down at 41.  So I’ve continued my list.  This summer we took a cruise to Alaska.  Amazing.  I’ve been job searching like a new college grad.  Exhausting.  And now, my list continues as I try acupuncture for the first time.

image

I’ve heard about it my entire life but like many things I was reluctant to try it out.  But now more than ever, I’m realizing that I need to take better care of myself to be a better parent to our kids, and a better husband to my wife, to be a better me.

One by one the doctor put the needles in.

Anxiety.

Stress.

Weight loss.

Sleep improvement.

I thought I’d look like a pin cushion when she was done, but truthfully, it was only ten or so strategically placed needles.  She then had me lay down in the dark, in the quiet, without my kids running, or the phone chiming, or car horns honking, or anything else.  Just me and my needles.

Acupuncture is an ancient treatment and now I was pinning its success on some very modern day problems.  After about 20 minutes they came to remove the needles.  Everyone wonders so here’s the answer: The needles didn’t really hurt at all.  They’re whisker thin and felt just like a little pinch going in and going out.  They’re disposable too.

The first thing I noticed was the calm I felt.  Just calm.  Calm.  My head felt warm and fuzzy, that feeling after you’ve woken up from a really satisfying sleep.  It’s been so long since I had sleep like that.  Mostly it was just calm.  That initial fuzzy feeling lasted a couple of hours.  The calm lingered longer.

They gave me some herbs (not THOSE herbs) and booked me for another appointment in a week.  As I approach my birthday this week, another year older, maybe another year wiser, realizing it’s incredibly important to keep trying new things.

 

check out some of my other 40 before 40 adventures:

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/05/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-1-of-40-a-day-in-san-pedro/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/12/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-2-of-40-a-pilates-class/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/18/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-3-of-40-the-grand-canyon/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/21/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-4-of-40-you-stayed-where-on-vacation/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/26/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-5-of-40-disneyland/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/07/26/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-6-of-40-i-tried-menudo/

https://dadmissions.wordpress.com/2015/08/05/40-things-to-do-before-im-40-7-of-40-water-aerobics/

 

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 40-Things To Do Before I’m 40: Acupuncture

  1. Dadx6 says:

    As someone who, at 44, has come to realize that I am bored with EVERY aspect of my life, I’m interested to know if trying these new things is making you the better whatever you want to be? Parenthood is all about routine. Get up and make money. Make sure the kids are cared for. Make sure they get to practice. Make sure we have groceries. Make sure you save money. Oh and be thankful you’re blessed with healthy kids. Don’t get me wrong, I know there are people who would kill to have what I have, but I don’t have myself anymore. Maybe doing something new every day would help me find that “me” again…

Leave a Reply

