Kiss Me, I’m 40

So this is 40.

I’ve spent my entire life trying to run away from this day as time marched me there anyway. I distinctly remember as a little kid one weekend when we went with my dad to pick up my grandma. He didn’t know it was a surprise party for his 40th… a double celebration actually… for my grandma’s birthday too. By the time we returned from Boulevard Terrace in Brighton,
the entire family had gathered. I still remember the iron-on transfer shirt my dad got– one of those 80’s shirts– which said “Kiss Me I’m 40”.

So this is 40.

My dad died a few years later. He never made it to 50 and that thought has been with me my entire life. If I only got to live as many years as he did, would it be enough, would I have done enough, seen enough, loved enough, experienced enough. The thought has pushed me from a young age to strive, to succeed, and to get there as quick as possible because I always had this nagging feeling that time was my enemy.

So this is 40.

My wife has long said I’m an “old soul”. I started getting gray hair years ago. People I work with are often surprised when they hear my age. I chalk it up to being forced to grow up quick. In your teens it’s all about school and friends… the twenties are all about becoming a young adult, the thirties are all about starting your family and climbing the career ladder.

So WHAT is 40.

Well, 40 for me is going to be about balance… balance between family and career… balance between my strive for success and my need for inner calm. 40 for me will be about filling out some bucket list items… because why wait. 40 for me will be about enjoying my kids a little more… while they’re still little… and enjoying my wife a little more… before I’m the guy in the rocking chair in the little blue pill commercials. 40 for me will be about celebrating my gray hair… it’s “dashing”. 40 for me will be about accepting the things I cannot change like a body sculpted in the shape of a small bowl of jello. 40 for me will be about learning to like the guy I’ve become even if I’m still a work in progress. 40 for me might be over the hill, but it won’t be half bad. 40 for me is a new chapter. So today, I will get the cake and I will get the candles… and I will make a wish.

Kiss me, I’m 40.

image

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kiss Me, I’m 40

  1. No kisses from here, but certainly–enthusiastically!–many happy birthday wishes! 😀

  2. Happy Birthday!!! You were such a cute child. Your oldest looks JUST like you.

  3. Mike Heenan says:

    Way to own it. You’ve got a few weeks on me.

  4. rosa ayala says:

    HAPPY 40 BIRTHDAY. i´M VERY HAPPY AND ENJOYING YOU ARE 40, IS A YOUNG AGE AND YOU HAVE A GREAT ENERGY, GREAT HEALTH, A LOVELY FAMILY. ENJOY IT AND GOD BLESS YOU EVERY DAY YOUR ENTIRE LIFE. CONGRATULATIONS.

  5. 143slc says:

    Happy Birthday, Pete!

Leave a Reply

