Dadmissions: Nathan

Today I walked into a sub shop to get a small sub and right away I noticed an older gentleman in a plaid shirt… worn and torn… with jeans to match. He had his bags with him and about 500 little pieces of paper wrapped in rubber bands. It was pretty clear he didn’t have much… I thought he was flipping through the papers for money. He never seemed to find any. I didn’t want to intrude and walked out of the shop… thought about it… and walked back in. I said, “Excuse me.. I see you’re in the sub shop but you don’t have a sub… would you like one”. He was caught off guard amid his papers and bags. He accepted and told me he’d like a roast beef. I asked him his name and he said with his weathered face and white beard, “Nathan”. I told him I was Peter and I was glad to meet him. Immediately he started reciting bible verses from Peter. I’m a Jewish guy but I rolled with it. I asked if he lived around here and he said, “I live behind the Rite Aid”… and I felt like an idiot for asking. We stood in line together and ordered the roast beef with everything. Nathan recited a few more bible verses. We got to the front of the line and said our goodbyes. But before I left, Nathan thanked me and then asked if I wanted any bible verses. I told him I was OK. And he said, “Are you sure”. And I said OK I’ll take one… pick me a good one. And he went back to those 500 pieces of paper wrapped in rubber bands… He flipped and flipped and flipped… and picked out this one… handwritten by Nathan with a message inside “open the door to your heart”. He gave me a smile with that white beard and plaid shirt… almost like Saint Nick himself… and we shook hands and went on our way…

heart

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dadmissions: Nathan

  1. jsackmom says:

    Oh wow I just got goosebumps reading that. What a beautiful that you have given each other time, attention, and a heartfelt message. 😊

Leave a Reply

