40 Things To Do Before I’m 40: 1-of-40 A Day in San Pedro

When summer ends and the school year begins I’ll be celebrating my 40th birthday in September. I see it coming at me like a freight train. I’m not afraid of 40 but I know it marks a new chapter in my life. This summer I’ve challenged myself to experience 40 new things BEFORE I turn 40. It’s not a bucket list and they don’t have to be death defying challenges. But my challenge to myself is to experience 40 new things I’ve never done before. And so it begins “40 Before 40” and today it took me where the land meets the sea.

image

We went to San Pedro, California where people go for fresh fish and a slice of the seashore. They line up along a string of restaurants where the fish comes right out of the water and in to be cooked. So we went. We got in line and picked a fresh Tilapia and they fried it right up for us… the whole thing. We ate it Anthony Bourdaine style.. no reservations… no forks either. We ate fresh fish like cave people.

image

Along the way we got to enjoy the water. My gals fed the birds. We walked along the shoreline.

image

40 before 40 began for me with an adventure… a discovery ride as my parents used to call it.. where you just get in the car and drive and wait to see where the road takes you. We’ll see where the road goes next.

image

image

If you have ideas for me for my 40 before 40… drop me a note… and find me on Facebook at dadmissions

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 Things To Do Before I’m 40: 1-of-40 A Day in San Pedro

  1. Pingback: 40 Things To Do Before I'm 40

  2. Pingback: 40 Things To Do Before I’m 40: 8-of-40: Dia De Los Muertos | Dadmissions

Leave a Reply

