Why I’ll Never Be The Same Man After Having Daughters

At some point it happened, and I don’t know exactly when. Maybe it was in the middle of the night during a bottle feedingwhen their tiny hands barely wrapped around my index finger. Maybe it was when they put on that first little dress with that first pair of Mary Janes. Maybe it was when I twirled them around the room in my arms dancing the tango—dad style. All I know is that at some point, it happened; I changed. First with one daughter and then another. I started to change like the Velveteen Rabbit I had read them when they were little.

Sure, I still like beer, football and “Storage Wars.” But I was taken to school in a big way. There was dad’s first mani-pedi because the girls wanted me to do it. There was dad’s first My Little Pony shirt because the girls dared me to wear it. There were princess parties, failed ponytail attempts, trips to the American Girl store… and doll after doll after doll. But it hasn’t been all rainbows and unicorns. It has meant addressing questions like…

I wrote this essay special for Parenting.com … please click here to read the rest of the essay!

http://www.parenting.com/parenting-advice/dad/why-ill-never-be-same-man-after-having-daughters

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I’ll Never Be The Same Man After Having Daughters

  1. Underdaddy says:

    Right on. They change a man.

  2. rosa ayala says:

    I know why, because yo are great father, and you turned greater when they see you the first time.HAPPY FATHER´S DAY.

  3. Pingback: Leading like Tara & Louise | The Monster in Your Closet

Leave a Reply

