I’m NO Square… But Maybe A Bit Triangle

My kids think I can’t cook. I think the kids think the kitchen is my enemy. So on one afternoon I set out to show them I was anything BUT square… I was a little triangle… as in Hamantashan… a sweet Jewish treat. You basically make the dough, stuff it with sweet stuff, and bake it… hoping the end shape resembles a triangle.. here goes nothing

Step 1: I bought the ingredients.. Notice the Reese’s package didn’t make it home from the store without being opened… don’t judge

image

Step 2: I got the ingredients ready and noticed that ANYTHING which calls for this much butter must be good

image

image

Step 3: I figured out how to use the mixer we got for our wedding.. fifteen years ago… zoom!

image

Step 4: got the dough ready and took a well deserved rest watching random TV shows for three hours while the dough sat in the fridge (no pictures)

Step 5: the kids rolled out the dough and stuffed it with fruit, chocolate chips, Reese’s cups and more… a one to ten ratio of fruit to other stuff

image

Step 6: we stared in the oven and waited for our delicious treat… drooled a little… waited… drooled

image

Step 7: we sampled a bunch of hamantashan for quality control before we presented a much smaller batch for the wife… wouldn’t want her to taste something less than perfection…

image

image

In one afternoon, I stole the recipe from the internet and proved to the kids I was a little bit more triangle than square… maybe. Delish. Boom. Drop spatula and out.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m NO Square… But Maybe A Bit Triangle

  1. jdawgswords says:

    looks awesome…don’t get to much a big head though…won’t be able to get out the door…

  2. garym6059 says:

    I love baking with my daughter, treats look delicious!

  3. Awww, you’re a great dad. I love your stories because well, mine wasn’t and I’ll just leave it at that. Love witnessing through words and pics how some dad’s get it totally RIGHT!!

  4. dstan58 says:

    I;m a purist. Prune hamataschen, baby. Prune.

Leave a Reply

