Dadmissions: The Kardashianization of Society

The Kardashianization of our society could derail the self confidence of a whole generation of girls. It’s THAT serious. We have spent so much time recently talking about broad backsides and exaggerated assets and oiled-up photo shoots. We have prized false beauty over true beauty and it needs to stop.

False beauty is born out of photoshop and magazine covers and rises to stardom out of reality TV, web clicks, and stage moms. It seems shiny and glossy and indeed it is popular. But even the shiniest car eventually rusts away. False beauty is no different.

True beauty is born in the smallest of details… a confident voice… a hopeful demeanor… a willingness to make the world a better place. True beauty can be brains. True beauty can be brawn. True beauty doesn’t make headlines on magazine covers or centerfolds. But it should. True beauty glows bright and never fades.

The worry for me is teaching my girls the difference between the two. In a world where we are seeing a steady bombardment of one and not nearly enough of the other. It’s time for a reality check. My kids heard talk about the Kardashian photos on the radio the other day and asked “Who’s she?” “No one” I said… and I meant it.

Too idealistic? Maybe so. It’s a pretty perfect idea in my mind and didn’t need any photoshopping either.

Find me on Facebook at Dadmissions

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dadmissions: The Kardashianization of Society

  1. Well said, Dad. Now if only we could start a groundswell and change the ideal of beauty before it ruins another generation.

  2. Reblogged this on Pebbles On The Road and commented:
    This my first time to reblog a post, so let’s see if I do it right.

    Dadmissions hit the nail on the head with this post about false beauty and its effect on impressionable young minds.

  3. Marvin says:

    Amen! What is going on in this society is an absolute tragedy. I literally lay in bed at night scaring the hell out of myself wondering how I’m going to raise and navigate my daughter through all this mess. Not sure if you saw it but there was a recent article about a 6 year old Russian girl who was dubbed “The prettiest girl in the world.” Granted she was a cute little girl, but she should have been outside on a jungle gym somewhere. Not in a studio getting makeup put on and pranced around. I honestly don’t know what the solution is, but our family doesn’t contribute a dime towards this junk. No magazines, no music, or tv that promotes this madness.

  4. This is well said. Good for you for saying it aloud.

  5. Moni says:

    You are so right, and it’s great to hear it from a dad. I never thought I’d censor what my kids watch, but when I caught a Kardashian claiming she was “depressed” because she hadn’t received birthday flowers from “any cute boys” (after receiving what must’ve been $1k in flowers!) I vowed never to let my child watch this nonsense! Who wants their children to grow up ungrateful or caught up in material things and physical beauty?

Leave a Reply

