Dadmissions: 48 Hours To Reconnect With My Family

48 hours to reconnect with my family

I work nights and my wife works days. She’s up super early in the morning. I’m up super late at night. It’s cliche to say we’re two ships passing in the night. And it would be inaccurate too. Those two ships actually pass each other. We don’t even do that… we sacrifice like many folks… which is why the weekend is so important.

48 hours to reconnect with my family

I get the kids to school in the morning, make them breakfast, and then that is it for the day. That’s it. I’ll see them tomorrow. My wife puts the kids to bed. I’ll see her tomorrow too. Sometimes guilt fills the gap being on such an opposite schedule. That’s why the weekend is so important.

48 hours to reconnect with my family

Saturday and Sunday we will run and run till we run out of time. Movies, birthday parties, a couple of dinners together and more.. Shopping for the kids, shopping for groceries… trying to have fun with the family and get everything done. Why do we jam it all in? Because that’s the time we have together.

48 hours to reconnect with my family

We’re living in an age where many people make sacrifices for their families… Working long hours… working odd schedules… happy to be working at all. Even when it seems like it’s not working. But on the weekend, even for a day or two, it works.

48 hours to reconnect with my family

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder… but I’m here now. Two days ahead of me, two sunsets, two late nights with the wife, two bedtimes with the kids, two morning sunrises, two glasses of wine (maybe more), two leisurely cups of coffee in the morning. Two days to glue the family back together for another week. Time’s ticking.

48 hours to reconnect with my family

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dadmissions: 48 Hours To Reconnect With My Family

  1. Brian says:

    Great post – I have similar situation. I work a later shift and see my wife and kids in the morning and have a few hours with them in the mornings – then like you said, I see my kids the next day. It sucks but you do what you gotta do I guess!

  2. I remember when I wasn’t able to get that 48 hours. I worked weekends and we only had 4 hours at night 2 days a week to reconnect. I’m sure that many families who have both people working a 9-5 job and weekends off feel this way too.

Leave a Reply

