Dadmissions: Half Life

I’ve already reached the top of the hill and I’m about to cross over it. How the hell did THAT happen. I’m only 39… clinging on to my 30’s but still in them. Yet new research out this week makes it plain and simple. It’s the annual US life expectancy study: women can expect to live 81.2 years compared to 76.4 years for men. There it is. I just turned 39… I’m officially more than half way there. Am I crazy to be thinking that way?? Well, when you have a father who died in his 40’s and a mother who died in her 50’s you might look at life in somewhat different terms.

I’m not about to go buy a sports car, dye my hair, and run off with a younger woman… ((I do like the sports car idea though)).

But maybe it IS time to get my priorities in order. You spend the first 20 years of your life growing up and getting an education, the next 20 years establishing a family and career… now the next phase… the next one… what is it. Maybe I SHOULD be making a bucket list of things to do. And no… maybe there’s nothing morbid about it. It’s just a reality check… a progress report on my life so far.

I’ve done really cool things like meeting legendary musicians from David Bowie to Stevie Wonder…

I’ve done really bizarre things like DJing karaoke parties for members of the Boston Bruins hockey team…

I’ve been to incredible places like Hawaii and the Caribbean and even Franconia, New Hampshire watching the purple lupins in the fields where my wife and I got married at the Foxglove Inn on Sugar Hill.

I’ve done really satisfying things like my work in TV news… being there to cover some of the most important stories of our generation.. hopefully making even a small difference in the lives of some people.

Perhaps the most rewarding thing I’ve accomplished in my first 39 years is finding a great woman to share my life with… and raising two great kids who I know will grow up to be intelligent and beautiful women.. inside and out.

So I hesitate to say mid-life and I don’t smell a crisis coming… but let’s just call this a half life… and as I look at the next chapter… I have a list of things I’d still like to get done:

see the pyramids in Egypt
visit my family in Israel
walk through London
eat fresh bread in Italy
enjoy the Eiffel Tower
sit on Fenway’s green monster
watch the kids grow up
be at their graduations
walk them down the aisle
be free from credit cards
live in a larger house
get back to a 34 waist
become a microbrew expert
own a coffee franchise
learn to dance for my wife

It’s just a start. My half life is just beginning and I have a long road to go. Where do you want to go in YOUR next chapter.

Find me on Facebook at dadmissions.

image

PS I think all those life expectancy studies are really stupid.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dadmissions: Half Life

  1. “Half Life.” I like your phrasing of that. I wish I had thought of it when I bumbled over my words a few years ago when writing on the same relative topic. (http://dustinrecsports.com/?p=184) But I too, am 39 and staring the big 4-0 right in the face. And it’ll only be another 10 years or so when if I die, it won’t be such a tragedy. And that’s disheartening. This has been inspiration for me to finally at least make that bucket list you just did. Whether I’ll accomplish anything is another matter. But I will at least make the list! Right after I do the laundry. Best of luck to you. I hope you get to watch your kids grow up too. That’s #1 on my list.

  2. Enjoy the second half!
    It sounds like some traveling is in your future.

  3. This reminds me of the song, “My Next 30 Years”. If we stop and think of it as a HALF LIFE, why shouldn’t the rest of it be “the best years of my life”? Well said. Off to make my list! 🙂

  4. Coming up on my 30th year of life, I too feel much of the way that you are feeling. While it isn’t so much a half life for me it is a time of reflection. A time for me to think about where I have been, where I have gone, and where I will go.

Leave a Reply

