Dadmissions: Our Night With Paul McCartney

They say music can bring you back to a certain time and place in your life… I’ll go a step further… sometimes the music itself IS that time and place in your life… And this weekend that place was Dodger Stadium where Paul McCartney took the stage for the first time in some 50 years .. not since the Beatles first invaded America…

While most couples would be happy to have a night out, happy to have a date night away from the kids. I couldn’t help but think that this was one concert the kids HAD to be at. I always wanted to take them to their first big show. And with apologies to Katy Perry and all their current favorite singers, this felt like history. This WAS history. And I wanted my kids there to witness it. So we went.

image
The crowd is a little grayer. Getting up the stairs for some was a little bit harder. One couple in the floor seats held up a sign for sir Paul “43 years married… 43rd concert with you”. My kids were some of the youngest in the entire stadium. It didn’t matter.

The excitement built. The crowd was huge. The lights went dark. And then it boom it began- two hours of Paul McCartney narrating the travels of his life through music… travels that so many of us were part of. I’ve seen lots of concerts in my life. Each one is a little amazing to me that a person I’ve listened to on the radio my whole life is in the same building… just yards away (even if i’m in the nose bleeds) and performing songs live that I’ve known to grow and love over the years.

image
My 9 year old was keeping track of the songs she recognized. 23 songs in all. Not too shabby from “Let It Be” to “Hey Jude” to “Blackbird” to “Obladi Oblada” and “Eight Days A Week” …. I heard songs I never thought I’d ever hear live “Band On The Run”, “Eleanore Rigby”, “Back In The USSR”, and one of my ALL TIME favorites “Maybe I’m Amazed”. And then it happened. And it gave me chills. Sir Paul launched into “We Can Work It Out”. You see, out of all the songs I’ve sung to the kids at bedtime over the years, THAT is one of them… a song about letting go of your troubles and recognizing what’s important in life and loving each other. I looked at my daughter. I could tell she got it. She GOT it.. how cool it was to see history in the making… to see history right in front of your eyes. The song I sang to them in bedtime.. sung by the guy who wrote and performed the song. It was like he was singing right to us. For a split second he was. The night finished with a blasting and raucous “Live and Let Die” for the ages that spit flames and fireworks into the air and showed my kids what a rock concert is all about. When it was time to go home my 9 year old went and bought her first concert shirt. She can’t wait to wear it today to tell everyone about the night she had.

image
They say music can bring you back to a certain time and place in your life… I’ll go a step further… sometimes the music itself IS that time and place in your life… And this weekend that place was Dodger Stadium. It was a night with my wife and with my kids that I won’t forget. I know they won’t forget it either.

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dadmissions: Our Night With Paul McCartney

  1. One of the best experiences that I have with my dad is sharing an Eagles concert with him. Music is one of the great things that can bring parents and kids together.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful experience. I’m a huge Springsteen fan and I think it would be a lot of fun to bring my children to one of his shows. However, they are not necessarily into his music and I don’t think they would be into the concert experience.

Leave a Reply

