Dadmissions: I Rediscovered My Family

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

making s’mores with extra chocolate and those extra large marshmallows and squishing all that gooey goodness between graham crackers

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

floating on plastic rafts down by the water that I turned blue inflating and nuzzling with my daughter when she got too cold to keep swimming

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

taking a day trip to Yosemite and standing at Sentinel Dome on top of the world.. even if dad was too much of a chicken to take the final steps

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

waking up to make pancakes and bacon and a fresh pot of coffee… filling the cabin with the smells of a good breakfast and sitting around the table to eat it

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

driving with the kids while they learned about the song MacArthur Park and the cake that took so long to bake (google it).. and their laugh attack after… just because

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

working to set a fire in the fireplace and smelling the crackling wood and seeing the glow of the fire even if I really couldn’t start the fire so well.. it was ten minutes of bliss

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

sitting with the wife while she enjoyed a glass of wine… a Syrah in whatever vintage the general store had.. remembering why we started this journey together in the first place

I rediscovered my family in the cabin by the lake

image

image

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dadmissions: I Rediscovered My Family

  1. Nice. Sounds like a great vacation and wake-up call. Enjoy that family of yours.

  2. Sharon Locke says:

    You, G, and the girls are still at the top of my happy list.

Leave a Reply

