Dadmissions: The News Business

The news business is always interesting, always changing, and always unpredictable. This week was no exception. I found myself in the very uncomfortable position of breaking the news to a mom that her son was accused of murder and was being held on one million dollars bail. He’s accused of stabbing a tourist on Hollywood Boulevard and killing her because she wouldn’t give him a dollar. A dollar. Police called him a transient. But everyone comes from somewhere. Even transients. And so began my search for answers. It led me to a series of phone calls which eventually ended in Tucson, Arizona. I asked if they knew someone by the suspect’s name. They did. I asked if I could confirm his middle name. They did. I asked if I could confirm his birthday. They did. And it was done. A series of questions confirmed their son is now a notorious murder suspect in Los Angeles. A series of questions confirmed he’s the man who will likely go to prison for the rest of his life if convicted. They didn’t know until then. None of it. My search for answers led to the most unexpected answers for a family who had lost track of their son due to mental illness. They knew he had been in and out of trouble. They knew he couldn’t stay clean. They knew they had lost him to the streets at some point. They had lost him. Mom confided in me that she had tried to get help for him. Mom confided in me that she felt the system had let him down. Even so, as a police detective herself (another twist) mom confided in me that there is no excuse and her son needs to pay for what he did, if he did it. I apologized for breaking the news to the family. I apologized for what they were going through. They apologized in return. They were more concerned about the family of a victim killed over a dollar, a woman they had never met, a chance encounter on Hollywood Boulevard that changed countless lives. The news business is always unpredictable. This week was no exception.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

