Dadmissions: The Sacrifice

We all do what we need to do to get by.

In my case I work nights. I’m grateful to have a job at a time when so many people don’t. That job like every job comes with sacrifices. So this week when I got the rare chance to work a day shift, I got the rare chance to reconnect with my family.

I got home in time to see the kids before they went off to sleep. I got home in time to see them brush teeth. I got home in time to see them get in pajamas. I got home in time to tell them stories. I got home in time on one night to see them both run through the house yelling, “daddy!!!” as they greeted me at the front door like I was George Bailey in “It’s A Wonderful Life”. It was the sweetest moment. It was the saddest moment. I couldn’t help but wonder how many of those George Bailey greetings I’ve missed over the past few years, how many bedtime hugs, how many story time opportunities I’ve missed all because of trying to provide a better life for my family.

And what about my wife. She’s the glue. I got home in time to actually have a conversation with my wife about her day. I never get to do that. I got home in time to actually watch TV with her and some of our favorite programs. I got home in time to actually be a husband to her. I couldn’t help but wonder how many of those conversations, how many of our favorite programs, how many husband moments I’ve missed all because of trying to provide a better life for my family. My wife fell asleep early each night. She said she felt safe knowing I was already home and in the house.

And as I laid there in bed one night it hit me like a sucker punch to the stomach:
My job sacrifice has been my family.

It’s not easy to say but it’s the truth. In the race to provide a better life for the family, a better home, better schools, better things, I’ve sacrificed them and myself. Monday I’ll go back to the night shift. I’ll come home to a dark house, to snoring kids, to a wife I haven’t spoken with.

We all do what we need to do to get by.
It just makes you wonder at what cost.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

