Dadmissions: My Little Brony

My two little girls have a thing for My Little Pony. Call it a hankering for horses or just mare-ital bliss, but somewhere along the line they ditched Dora and wacked the Wonder Pets and pledged their allegiance to all things “My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic”. They love Rainbow Dash (The Tomboy) and Rarity (The Fashionista) and Fluttershy (the shy one) and Applejack (The Farmer) and Pinkie Pie (The hyper one). So I guess it was only a matter of time before they bought dad an XL My Little Pony shirt and expected me to prance around proudly wearing it like a show dad at the big equestrian event. Today was that day- I could say NAY no longer.

pete mlp

So I stretched out the new XL shirt in grey and purple which said “Ponies Forever” that the girls had bought me with love, I put it on, and I strutted out like a proud dad stallion that owned the town. We went to the kids’ swim class. We went to the mall. We went to lunch. At each location, people saw a 37-year-old guy with blue jeans and grey hair and a My Little Pony shirt stretched to its limit. Some people smiled, others did double-takes, only one guy had the nerve to ask me.

“Hey, what’s the deal with the shirt?” he said.
“My daughters got it for me and Dad didn’t want to disappoint,” I said.

He immediately launched into a story telling me about how his dad was a straight-laced, shirt-and-tie teacher. He went out one day and bought dad a Bob Marley shirt, one of those bright, loud, tie-dyes that his dad would normally never wear. He told me he just wanted to buy it to see if his dad would wear it. He did. So I was in good company in my pony gear.

mlp 3

I learned a little bit about myself throughout the day. I may consider myself manly, I may consider myself proud, but there isn’t much I wouldn’t do to avoid disappointing the kids. The Urban Dictionary even has a term for guys who go around wearing Pony gear and talking about the most recent episodes.

Bronies: Teenage to young-adult, mostly male, fans of the animated cartoon “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.” The term is often accepted as gender-neutral, and many female fans prefer “brony” over the not-so-popular “pegasister.

I’m not exactly a Brony. I’m not exactly a Pegasister. Maybe I’m just that rarity type of dad trying to provide a little rainbow dash of love to the kids. While My Little Pony may have friendship that’s magic. Dad has love for the kids and THAT’S a magic which will last forever.

Now, can I put this shirt out to pasture?

mlp 2


“LIKE” DadmissionsTheBook on Facebook and let me know how far YOU’VE gone to avoid disappointing the kids

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dadmissions: My Little Brony

  1. No way, dude! Wear that shirt with pride! ❤

  2. I bet you rocked it.

Leave a Reply

