Dadmissions: The Song

It’s a pretty big day in the Dadmissions house. It’s not every day that you get your own song written just for you. No, it’s not a power ballad love song about everlasting devotion and heartfelt musings, but it says love and understanding in a way that few songs can. Today in the middle of the morning routine of breakfast, school lunches, and getting dressed, one daughter said, “My dad is nuts.” The other daughter cracked up, “He’s super crazy”. The house must’ve turned into a little impromptu studio because then came the rhyme from these 7 and 5 year olds. Picture spoken word with a strong beat… Boom cha cha boom boom.. Boom cha cha boom boom:

My dad is nuts, my dad is super crazy…
My dad is nuts, my dad is super crazy…
My dad is nuts, my dad is super crazy…

And so a song was born. That’s the only line in the song right now. But I think Jay-Z could do a heck of a job and maybe bring Beyonce in for the refrain:

He’s so crazzzzy.
He’s so crazzzzy.
But I love him…
He’s my dadddd….

OK I made up this last part. But the girls really did make up the first part. We may argue about dolls and toys and TV time… And some day those arguments will escalate into car keys, boyfriends, and curfews but today on this day the kids love me and that’s all I can hope for as we build a foundation for the future. And hey, at least they think I’m funny. I’m freakin’ funny. I’m nuts. I’m super crazy. Not a super freak. Just super crazy.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dadmissions: The Song

  1. The next big girl band has begun its career. Sweet. It’s a shame you don’t have a video.

  2. Agree with memyselfandkids – you need to start carrying a Flip around!

Leave a Reply

