Dadmissions on Role Models

I often sit and wonder if I’m a good role model for my kids. Lord knows, it seems good role models are in short supply these days. I know the best role models in the lives of my two girls will be their parents and their teachers and those closest to them. But let’s be honest, right or wrong, the influences of society are all around all the time and it is those people which tend to carry inflated influence in the lives of young people nowadays. So it makes me angry, really angry, when another potential role model crashes and burns. Think Lance Armstrong and PEDs, John Edwards and his infidelity, the many musician- actor- athlete drug overdoses, DUI arrests, gun incidents- the poor choices and the chance after chance many have thrown away and in some cases costing them their lives. They all blew it and it makes me angry.

When Gabby Douglas and her team won Olympic gold I wrote:

“I’m tired of the rehabbing actors in the news.  I’m tired of the performance enhancing athletes in the news.  I’m tired of the phony, 15-minutes-of fame, reality-show seeking, attention-seeking, camera-seeking, fame-seeking, talentless pool of role models that society now has to choose from.  You’ve won the gold medal.  Now, you’re really carrying the torch.  This is your chance to really shine”.

Some people agreed wholeheartedly. Others thought I was putting too much pressure on the shoulders of teenagers. But like it or not. As far as I’m concerned, you have a responsibility if you live life in the public eye.

You have a responsibility. It is the price YOU pay for the celebrity lifestyle, the endorsements, the commercial deals, the guest actor spots, the fat paychecks, and the adoration of thousands of people. You, in the public spotlight, have a responsibility. Like it or not.

Don’t get me wrong. I am so appreciative now for the people I see doing good. There are some folks using their celebrity to shed light on very deserving causes whether it be Hurricane Sandy relief efforts, rebuilding in Haiti, or even the plight of rescue dogs. There are some people who never wanted to be celebrities who have gone on to inspire others and be real role models as well. But the more I think about it, the biggest role models in my life haven’t been people in the public spotlight at all.

Let me tell you a little about the folks who have made the biggest difference in my life:

My wife Gloria takes the bus each morning across town and works tirelessly with inner city students to get them into four year colleges.

My mother Toby, for YEARS, valiantly fought an illness with grace and dignity which eventually took her life.

My sister Rachel has always followed her dreams whether it be law school, cross-country travel, or publishing research work on one of the biggest music groups in history.

My professor in college, Jim Thistle, took the chance on me, a journalism non-major, and made the one call which changed my entire career.

And my kids Alicia and Andreya. Yes they are the role models which show me why I need to be a role model.

Maybe we all need to look in another direction. I do believe people in the public spotlight need to act like role models. But maybe it’s time to take role models back. If we take these other folks off the pedestal, the REAL deserving role models takeout the recognition they deserve.

I hope I too can be a role model one day. I’m a work in progress.
In the meantime, who has been the role model in YOUR LIFE.. Find me on Facebook at Dadmissions The Book.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dadmissions on Role Models

  1. Thanks for this. YOU are a role model to me every day, and I am so proud of you always!

    Love, Rachel Team Toby – http://www.TeamToby.net

    Dedicated to raising awareness of and funds for pulmonary fibrosis in memory of Toby Neipris Wilgoren

    ________________________________ From: Dadmissions To: rwilgoren@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, January 18, 2013 12:12 PM Subject: [New post] Dadmissions on Role Models

    WordPress.com dadmissions posted: “I often sit and wonder if I’m a good role model for my kids. Lord knows, it seems good role models are in short supply these days. I know the best role models in the lives of my two girls will be their parents and their teachers and those closest to the” Respond to this post by replying above this line New post on Dadmissions Dadmissions on RoleModelsby dadmissions I often sit and wonder if I’m a good role model for my kids. Lord knows, it seems good role models are in short supply these days. I know the best role models in the lives of my two girls will be their parents and their teachers and those closest to them. But let’s be honest, right or wrong, the influences of society are all around all the time and it is those people which tend to carry inflated influence in the lives of young people nowadays. So it makes me angry, really angry, when another potential role model crashes and burns. Think Lance Armstrong and PEDs, John Edwards and his infidelity, the many musician- actor- athlete drug overdoses, DUI arrests, gun incidents- the poor choices and the chance after chance many have thrown away and in some cases costing them their lives. They all blew it and it makes me angry. When Gabby Douglas and her te

Leave a Reply

