Dadmissions: Feeling Like The Worst Dad

Sometimes I think I must be the worst dad in the world. I must be. After a particularly challenging weekend with the kids, it just seems to be staring right at me. This weekend, I’m the worst dad. I can see the stare of the 7 year old who is frustrated with me. I can see the stare of the 5 year old who is frustrated with me. I don’t seem to have the patience or the parental know-how to fix the situation. Yes, we had two swim classes this weekend, and a kid’s birthday party to go to, and a piano recital to go to, in addition to all the normal stuff we do. Yes, I made croissants with the kids and shared a new experience of deep fried Eel in LA’s Chinatown with the kids. But so what. I can’t help but feel this weekend was a failure. The kids argued a lot. They didn’t share a lot. They didn’t listen to mom and dad or anyone else for that matter a lot. There were time-outs and punishments which had to be handed out. It’s Sunday night and we’re all grumpy and mom and dad are plotting an early bedtime for the kids so this challenging day can mercifully just come to an end. It was one of those weekends where the more we seemed to give, the more we seemed to take a step back. So that’s just what I’m gonna do… step back. Sometimes it’s all you CAN do. When we had lunch yesterday, there was this brief moment when all of us sat together and our two daughters hugged each other, the older one was helping the younger one, and the younger one said “I just love my sister so much.” When there’s a rough patch in the family and nothing seems to be going right, maybe the only thing we can do is anchor ourselves to one of the good times and wait till they come back around again. They almost always do.

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dadmissions: Feeling Like The Worst Dad

  1. Been there brother… Father of a 6 and 3 year old daughters. Its a stressful job but someone has to do it… Keep fighting the good fight…

  2. Reblogged this on A Toolbox For Dad and commented:
    We have all been there. This Dad shares his pain in a good post!

Leave a Reply

