Dadmissions: Love Is A Battlefield

There I was dreaming of G-L-O-R-I-A and all I could think of was the number for Jenny… 8-6-7-5-3-0-9.   She was Jessie’s girl and I always tortured myself thinking, “Why can’t I get a woman like that”?  Now, I know that Stacey’s mom has got it going on but I could never get Rio out of my mind.  When she shines she really shows you all she can.  She had those Bette Davis eyes.  All I wanna do when I wake up in the morning is see those eyes Rosanna, Rosanna.  But there was a problem and I had to confess once and for all, her name was Roxanne.  I loved you since I knew ya.  I wouldn’t talk down to ya.  I have to tell you just how I feel.  I won’t share you with another boy.  But she had another boy and his name was Mickey.  He was so fine, so fine he blew her mind, that Mickey.  I hated that guy.  Rumors started flying.  I heard that Jack and Diane were sucking on chili dogs outside the Tastee Freeze, Diane was sittin’ on Jacky’s lap, he’s got his hand between her knees.  Even though he was doing his best James Dean, I heard that he was really interested in Sara who was breaking up with Mickey,  Storms were brewin’ in her eyes… That Sara, Sara, no time is a good time for goodbyes.  But she was saying goodbye.  I’d hear them fight at night, and I’d hear her say, “Keep it down now, voices carry”.   And he’d say, “Well you came and you gave without taking, And I sent you away, oh Mandy”.  She went away but I heard that Annie was in a Squeeze so she went and got her gun.  All of a sudden, there was Jack and Diane, and Gloria, Jenny, Mandy, Stacey’s mom and the others, and the bullets were flying.  Tommy used to work on the docks.  So he came running after Gina worked the diner all day, and all of a sudden he was shot through the heart.  Everyone stood there stunned.  How could this possibly happen.  And as she turned to walk away, she muttered under her breath, “You give love a bad name”. There was no question on that October day.  Love is a battlefield. 

About dadmissions

author of Dadmissions. surrounded by a wife and two girls... and a dog named Cupcake
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

